Thank you:

There are many I wish to thank before this thing really gets rolling:

First off, thank you to Banting and Best for developing insulin.  I am not sure I would be here without them.  Many, many thanks to Dr. Robert Ehrlich, Dr. Denis Daneman, and Dr. Bernard Zinman for the kindness, knowledge and attentive care.  I don’t think I would have been nearly as successful without your help.  Thank you to all of the nurses and hospital staff that have looked after me.  Thank you to all of the paramedics, police and fire fighters that have had to put up with my hypoglycemia (READ: ERRATIC BEHAVIOUR). Your patience and professionalism has been greatly appreciated.  A huge thank you to my family for all of their love and support.  Thank you Doug Randall, my (deceased) grandfather, for always believing in me, encouraging me and being an unfailing optimist.  Many thanks to all of my friends, not just for being amazing human beings but, for acting at times as impromptu paramedics (…Mike and Lisa; AP and AI). Thank you KK for your inspiration, wisdom and being a voice of reason.  My heartfelt thanks to Scott Forhan, Lester Ponce, Mary O’Reilly ND, John Steuernol and Ian Mason RMT for all of your care and knowledge.  Thank you to all of the people whose names I don’t know for helping me out when I needed it most.  And, thank you (and apologies) to all those that I have managed to forget!

I am truly grateful for all of the experiences that I have shared with each and every one of you.  My life has been enriched more than I can possibly express by all of those that have made this list (and by countless that haven’t, too).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank you:

  1. James says:

    I’m an RD (30 years) and a CDE. Unlike most of my colleagues, I read a lot of research and want to know the causes of diseases so they can be stopped. I feel so sad when I see another child get DM 1.
    We don’t have the whole puzzle, but we have a lot more pieces than the experts say we have. I wondered, as I read your inspiring piece, if you have read “The China Study” by T. Colin Campbell. You won’t find a more authoritative book. Dietitians get continuing education credits for studying this book. Campbell explains DM1 well. If you haven’t read it, you must.
    The problem with reversing an autoimmune disease is that once a foreign protein is recognized as an attacker, how to you stop that recognition? Science is looking at how to “re-boot” the immune system but that isn’t easy.
    Campbell offers no hope for reversing DM1. But I wonder if you follow a diet like he recommends if it might be possible. No one cares, so try it! I eat that way.
    I collect research on causes of DM1 and if you email me, I can send them to you as attachments. Particularly interesting is research on family stress inducing DM1 in infants. Once I learned that, it became easy to see this happening in clinical practice. Stress=inflammation. Inflammation causes all disease including autoimmune disease.
    pearcej9@yahoo.com

    • Thank you very much for your commentary and please continue to follow. I will be putting up a post (hopefully sooner than later) that focuses on milk and a large portion of the post will be quoting directly from “The China Study”.

      What I find interesting is that in clinical trials mice that have had their beta cells destroyed manage to recover the function of these cells and can secrete insulin anew. So, one would be inclined to suspect, as you allude to, that there are other factors at play when it comes to humans. Particularly interesting is the work of guys like Bruce Lipton, who deal with epigenetics. Essentially, perceptions affect gene expression and have major implications in regards to the body’s ability to heal itself. One of the basic tenets is that any cell in the body can be in either growth or protection (rest/digest vs. fight/flee on a more macro scale) but, not both at the same time. And, perception of the environment is chief among the factors that determine which of these two states the cell will find itself in. So, stress would certainly have implications with respect to immune function. At a fundamental level stess=increased cortisol=decreased immune function.

      One prong of my endeavor is to try and eat in a way that will facilitate (GI tract) healing. I am trying to skew my foods towards the alkaline side of things and eat as much raw food as possible. I have not gone full on vegetarian/vegan as of yet but, that may very well be in the cards. Based on the overall message in books like “The China Study” and the work of people like Gabriel Cousens (“There Is A Cure For Diabetes” is sitting in my ‘to read’ pile), this seems like the best bet. Tough, though, when you are a rather carnivorous eater. And, when one considers that much of the immune system resides within the GI tract and that the enteric nervous system is practically a fully functioning brain unto itself, this makes a lot of sense.

      The other is to use methods like hypnosis to try and effect change in the physiology, in particular the immune system. I am extremely interested in exploring this. I practice hypnosis and have been doing self hypnosis to try and make inroads towards restoring the function of my beta cells and, more importantly, alleviating the autoimmune response that precludes the re-establishment of functional beta cells. But, this is pretty much uncharted water as far as I know. There is a myriad of factors to consider.

Leave a Reply

