Latest HbA1c

My last HbA1c was 8.0 or 8.1, which came as a bit of a surprise.  This would have been done in the late summer or fall of 2010 (reflecting the overall average from the previous 3 months of blood glucose levels).  The general trend that I had noticed was that my blood sugar was becoming increasingly stable.  What I mean is that there seemed to be fewer dramatic swings from sub 4.0 mmol/L levels to levels in excess of 13.0 mmol/L.  Perhaps not the most stringent of ranges but, in my experience, there would periodically be some broad swings from high to low and low to high.  I have noticed that things have become more stable but, apparently my blood sugars have been balancing a little beyond the target range.  I am very curious to see (on Feb. 3) if things have returned to a more optimal range.  Generally speaking, my HbA1c have been around the 7.0-7.5 mark.  I have enjoyed great care from my Endocrinologists over the years and this has been reflected in my HbA1c results.

There are a couple things that may account for the slightly higher than normal HbA1c:

1) I made a change from ‘Humulin N’ insulin, a longer acting “background” insulin that I was taking twice a day (one shot before bed and one, smaller shot with lunch) to ‘Lantus’, which is only taken once, before bed.  These two different types of insulin perform the same function.  While this change took place roughly around a year ago, there has been an adjustment period, which might at least partially explain the high HbA1c

2) The most likely candidate would have to be my ongoing change of eating habits.  Over the past 3-4 years I have made what I consider to be a remarkable transition.  At present, my biggest thrust has been to eliminate wheat and oats from my diet.  I favor meats, salads, nuts, berries and some fruits, and complex carbohydrates such as potatoes, rice and quinoa.  Because of the shift away from being more reliant on carbohydrates for energy, I have had to err on the side of caution and it would make sense that this has led to an overall rise in the average blood sugar over time with the upshot being that there are less abrupt transitions between low and high numbers.

This entry was posted in Latest HbA1c. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

